top of page
  • Writer's pictureericnormand74

The 2021 Holiday Tag

Alright, so I am both very thankful and also cursing the name of my good friend, Victoria St.Michael, for tagging me in this Blogmas (I think that is what it was called or some such). So, I am not a huge holiday person (other than Halloween) and I am also terrible at these sort of questionnaire things. I always end up feeling like I am not giving the correct answer and given a little bit of time I will end up figuring out a better answer. So, here I go with probably the largest deviation of my content yet.

  1. Favourite Holiday Movie? So, I can't think of any proper holiday movies that I am very attached so I am going to talk about my favourite Christmas shows. Now, I do love me some Olive the Other Reindeer but there will always be a place in my heart for those janky stop motion shows. My particular favourite has to be "Santa Clause is Coming to Town" with the Burger Meister Meister Burger and the Ice Wizard. It is mainly for the wonderful moment where young Santa yells "I AM TELLING YOU WHY!" at curious children he was starting to sing a song to. The baffling tonal shift is just bewilder. A recent newcomer to the Christmas show roster is this new Frosty show that occurs after the first Frosty. The strangest thing about this movie is it has the tone of a dystopian setting with a town that has basically come under the tyrannical control of a principal. What adds to this is the original kids were essentially gaslighted and manipulated into not believing that Frosty was real. It is a wild experience to watch because it is just such a weird outlier from other shows.

  2. Best way to spend a Saturday in December? Realistically, I just want a day where the writing goes smoothly and I do some cool stuff at my weekly D&D session. Maybe add on some hot chocolate if I am feeling sassy.

  3. Favourite Holiday Song? Alright, so I have already talked about my love for Christmas shows so a lot of my favourite songs come from those. One of the first that comes to mind would be "I'm Mister White Christmas/I'm Mister Green Christmas" duo from the Very Miser Christmas. Going back to my fav of the classic ones is "One Foot in Front of the Other" from Santa Clause is Coming to Town as the Ice Wizard is coming out of his depression (oddly relatable). All of the other Christmas songs are ones that I enjoy because I sing them to bother my Mom whenever she mentions early snow or cooled weather. What is most effective in this manner is "It's Beginning to Look a Lot like Christmas".

  4. What is a typical holiday meal? When the weather gets cooler it usually means that stews are on the menu. These are usually beef stews but sometimes my Dad makes a creamy chicken stew that has a solid Cajun spicing going on.

  5. What is your favourite holiday treat? So, a lot of treats I can no longer eat after start my diet. This means that a lot of the classic baked goods are off the menu. One of my favourite ones before that were there peanut butter cookies that my grandma made. She always made them look like snowmen with little chocolate faces and buttons. The one that I am looking forward to are the crepes that we make on Christmas eve. I know they are like a full on meal but we only have them then so they count in my mind.

  6. What fictional character would you want to spend the holiday with? Uuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuugh... These questions always kill me. When I was writing this down I knew that this was going to bother me so much. I just have such a hard time creating enough of an attachment to a fictional character that I am like "I would like to interact with them personally". I am just going to say Jacket from Hotline Miami because I think he has been through enough bullshit and should just have a nice holiday time chilling out and wearing comfy scarves.

  7. Can you name all of Santa's reindeer? Dasher, Dancer, Blitzen, Vixen, Prancer... and I am blanking I did think about how weird the name Gusher would be for a reindeer, so make of that what you will.

  8. Where would you like to visit for the holidays? Not for any reason other than I just always wanted to go there but I'd like to go to Thailand. Just something about that place is kinda calling to me.

  9. Do you like giving or receiving gifts? It is so dependent on how well I know that person and how well they know me. It is just always cool to just see a confirmation of that closeness.

  10. What is the best gift you have ever received? This is another of those questions where my head just folds in on itself when asked. I am like "God, I need to remember every gift I have ever gotten and then rank them in some manner and there are a bunch of situations that are hard to explain and should I so that people know the reason and do I even remember the reason..." aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah... alright, enough of that. Probably the best gift I have ever gotten is all of the weird random things that my sister has given me. It is those small and generally useless objects that I really enjoy because they are more about interacting with who I am instead of what I need. This has recently turned into various necklaces and bracelets that I never knew that I would be into but I whenever I feel the desire it is nice to put them on. So yeah, those would probably be my favourite gifts.


 

So yeah, that was probably more stressful than it was meant to be. I am not going to pretend that it wasn't fun though. Beyond my fussing I really do appreciate being brought into this little celebration by Victoria St.Micheal who has a lovely blog (https://vicstmichael.ca/2021/12/03/the-2021-holiday-tag/) and a great twitter account (https://twitter.com/vicstmichael) where you can find many other great bloggers.


So, I hope that you folk have a merry holiday time and make sure to make this final month worth it going into the new year.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page